Testing setup installation

I changed the setup to do some tests with pulleys (still on a small scale to have easier acces). I am also using a different thread, nylon coated stainless steel wire 0.45 mm, to see if it works. I use testweights so that there is tension on the thread because the thread is springy.

In the video clip below I experiment with the thread and I experiment with lifting paper. It all seems to work just fine, although I am not so sure to use the paper in this way. The lifting and lowering is now done by me (pressing the buttons in max) and is a bit static, repetitve. Controlled by the Max patcher the lifting will be less monotonous. I am still working out what the shape, form and material should be of the physical part of the installation.

Another thing I am also questioning is if there should be a physical-visual representation at all. I am considering it to be just  an audio installation of the spoken #hashtag words. The spoken words come across as quite powerful. I have to study the possibility of voice change over time in relationship to the growing amounts of spoken #hashtag words.

testsetup04
testsetup03

Previous setup:
testsetup02

Leave a Reply

